Kroger Personal Finance Reviews

Show reviews that mention
card money customer service kroger service customer prepaid card rewards debit card account
Filter review
New Reviewer

Holding funds in my account

They have been holding my money so long that now I have accumulated almost 13k which exceeds the card allotted amount. I have a restriction on my account that requires me to submit my ID which I've done 2 weeks ago. I will b homeless with 3 kids as small as 6 yrs old. KPF restricting my card couldn't have come at a worse time. I was planning to move, and now we are homeless. I haven't had money for food gas or to even buy a box to move out of my current place to go to next. Furthermore, I haven't had 1 penny in 2 weeks, and I'm tired of them lying to me about when the restriction would be removed. I have never felt so heartbroken and stressed over money I've earned that they won't let me get to.

User's recommendation: Dont ever use this company.

View full review
ID
#2484812 Review #2484812 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Product
Kroger Personal Finance Deposit
Loss
$12630
Preferred solution
Full refund
New Reviewer

For reasons dealing with my Kroger prepaid card and direct deposit not being added to my card twice

I have tried to have my tax return added to my Kroger prepaid card twice and both times nothing has ever happened and I have to wait for a check to be mailed to me because of it
View full review
ID
#1930070 Review #1930070 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Cons
  • Cannot find anyone in customer service yet to talk to
Loss
$1200
Preferred solution
Let the company propose a solution

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Resolved: Be Aware. Do not do business with this company.

Update by user Dec 18, 2019

The hold was finally taken off the account. Kroger had my Social Security Disability money for 28 days.

I had to call Kroger Corporate office 513-246-****. I spoke with Tonya and with Greg. I explained how long my account has been on hold and how many times I have faxed the documents. I also stated I was willing to send an encrypted email with the documents to a manager to verify my identity but I was not willing to continue to fax the documents at $5 per fax.

I was given an email address. I sent the email 3 times. The first time I encrypted the email. but the woman at U.S.

Bank could not open it. I sent to 2 more times and I followed up each time.

I also called Tonya/Kroger Corporate Office and let her know this had not been resolved. She called Erica./U.S.Bank and overnight the hold was lifted and I received an email from Erica letting me know this was done.

Update by user Dec 18, 2019

I wanted to update my complaint and explain the steps I took to resolve this issue. I hope it helps the next person.

1. I filed a complaint with the Better Business Bureau of Ohio-The Corporate Office of Kroger is located in Ohio. On my complaint I specified how long Kroger has had my money. When the corporate response from Kroger was that "I should Just re-fax my document again" I disagreed.

I called the contact person assigned to my complaint. I explained I have faxed this documentation 6 times and to 3 different fax numbers. I gave the fax numbers to the contact person at the BBB. She said she would get back with me.

She didn't. 2. I called Kroger's Corporate office. (513-246-****) I spoke with Tonya and I also spoke with Greg.

I explained how long Kroger has had my money and that I have faxed these documents 6 times to 3 different fax numbers. I explained how this hold on my money is affecting me. In my case, this is all the money I have. I can't pay rent, I can't buy groceries, and I can't get my medication.

I offered to send an encrypted email with my documentation to a manager but I was unwilling to continue to fax the documents when clearly faxing was not getting the job done. Greg gave me the email of a contact person at U.S Bank which is the bank the card is issued on. That email address is:erica.dilley@***.comI encrypted the email the first time, but Erica could not open it. I emailed the documents 3 times and I kept following up to see what the status was, I also called Tonya/Kroger Corporate office (513-246-****) back and let her know this has not been resolved.

She contacted Erica at U.S. Bank and overnight the hold was lifted and I received an email from Erica letting my know this has been resolved.

Original review posted by user Dec 10, 2019
I have my Social Security Disability check deposited on 11/20/19 on the Kroger Pre-paid card. There was a letter sent from "Cardholder Services" .There was no phone number to verify where this was from and to confirm this was legitimate. They wanted me to fax copies of my driver's license and my social security card. Last week I faxed this information 6 times. Each time they indicated they did not receive it. They said once they receive it, within 4 hours they will release the hold on the account. I called again today 12/10/19. This time they finally noted that they received the fax on 12/5/19. I asked why have they not released the hold on the account then? I was told there is no time frame listed as to how long it will take to release the hold on the account. The Kroger Visa pre-paid card is through U.S. Bank. I have called the bank regulators to register a complaint. Their number is: 800-613-****. I was told you have to file on line at www.helpwithmybank.gov They have 60 days to investigate the complaint. I will also file with the Better Business Bureau of Cincinnati Ohio where Kroger's Corporate office is located.
View full review
Resolved
ID
#1728393 Review #1728393 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Product
Kroger Personal Finance Direct Deposit
Pros
  • I liked a debit card for online purchases
  • That i could get an extra 5 cents off per gallon of gas
  • Convenience of a prepaid card
Cons
  • How they placed a block on my card for no apparent reason
  • Untrustworthy and incompetent
  • Robbed me
Reason of review
Access/ activation issues
Loss
$551

STILL NO PROVISIONAL CREDIT

Kroger Personal Finance - STILL NO PROVISIONAL CREDIT
I file. I filed a dispute on the 26th and put it in till the 27th spoke to several customer service reps in regards to this I received the dispute. letter. I filled it out I faxed it and then contacted to find out they did not receive it I then in return faxed it again. Called a couple days later nothing. I have called everyday to get the same answers the day they finslly recieve a written letter i found on the internet to print but told by rep they did not have online im told im now past the ten days. How convient. I asked for an email to send screen shots of threatening text messages from the burgler to my brother and i and they dont get emails. That money was my deposit to start a new life with my 7 year old son in az now we live in my chevy tahoe because corporate chooses to not see the importants nor has responded to any inner office emails. I hope and pray you NEVER have to go through what I have to witness w my 7 year old. Lets not mention a petty lyft charge neither companies have yet even beem contacted.
View full review
1 comment
#1754936

Still has yet to do anything. Contacted corporate and apparently the apple does not fall far from the tree and they make promises to have someone investigate or call you and nothing still. If the customer service isnt hanging up on you playing supervisor or sending you to survey corporate is just as crooked

ID
#1624754 Review #1624754 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Phoenix, Arizona
New Reviewer

Support Line Plays Games With You

I called to transfer a simply amount from one card to another on their website. I got an error that said the last name does not match the name on the card. I called to see what last name it was registered too because the name on the card is generic and says "Loyal Customer". When calling not only can I verify the entire card number, the address,, the expiration, the original deposit amount, and the last three transactions and they still WOULDN'T GIVE ME THE NAME it was registered on the account. It turns out it wasn't registered and the guy could see it wasn't changed and showed loyal customer so I would have had to guessed Customer as my last name. I thought I read Loyal Cardholder but he didn't even say that was enough and when I found that it was customer, he said he couldn't help because I couldn't verify it before. Then tried to get me to send my driver's license, receipt of the purchase, and fax that to them and then they would tell me what last name it was registered to. When he could see that it wasn't registered to any name! Stay Away from the JERKS!
View full review
1 comment
#1754937

Good Luck all cash card companies are crooks

ID
#1608372 Review #1608372 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Kroger Personal Finance Customer Care
Reason of review
Poor customer service
Preferred solution
Let the company propose a solution

Horrible

They just hanging up on me. Cannot make any contact with them.
View full review
1 comment
#1754938

They do that because it's getting closer and closer to them being brought down

ID
#1607873 Review #1607873 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Seattle, Washington
New Reviewer

Horrible

Please, save your time and nerves. I got the card in the store because the clerk told me I can do direct deposit right away. They never told me that I need to send them my ID, Social Security Card, Utility bill for the Direct Deposit to go through. Now, I am sitting without money to pay my rent and my child's daycare. The direct deposit is cancelled and I need to wait 3 business days for it to bounce back AND ANOTHER 3 BUSINESS DAYS FOR THE ACCOUNTING TO RE-ISSUE IT. I am done with them. They messed up my life.
View full review
1 comment
#1769690

same thing has happened to me. bbb.org will be hearing from me

ID
#1607848 Review #1607848 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Seattle, Washington
Product
Kroger Prepaid Card
Cons
  • Rude csr and sups who donot have a clue what their doing
  • How they placed a block on my card for no apparent reason
Reason of review
Not as described/ advertised
Preferred solution
Let the company propose a solution
New Reviewer

Beyond Words

They allowed an International company to steal my money! I called to get a new card because my pay was getting deposited 2 days later, System glich cant send a new card until it is sent up the ladder for someone to review. Now they said the are sending a check! Please 10 days! OMG I need help to get my money!
View full review
ID
#1566958 Review #1566958 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Kroger Personal Finance Prepaid Card Replacement
Cons
  • Kpf prepaid and their customer service
  • Theft of my money
  • Rude csr and sups who donot have a clue what their doing
Reason of review
Poor customer service
Loss
$2500
Preferred solution
Full refund
New Reviewer

Beyond Words

They allowed an international company to drain my account! They tried to issuse me a new card! System glitch can't send me a new card for 3 days! My pay is there and I can't get me one. My pay is on there and I have no access to it! i need help and can't get anyone to help me!
View full review
ID
#1565629 Review #1565629 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Holly, Michigan
Service
Kroger Personal Finance Prepaid Card Replacement

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Horrible experience

Kroger deactivated my debit card without any letters sent to me. Remind you that my hard earned paycheck is liaded unto my debit card each week. So I called customer service and she told me that I went to an ATM that wasnt in the network. Ive never heard anything like that never in my life. My debit card was also decline at a convenient store. So I gave them a call again...another lady said that they need to verify who I was and I needed to fax them a copy of my ID with an address on it and a copy of my social security card. I did just that..So I called again several times to see if they have received my faxes but each time customer services pretended not to see anything. Then goes on this rant about how it takes this and that amount of hours for them to activate my card. Im getting frustrated...It shouldnt take anyone 4 to 16hrs to activate a card. I will never shop at Krogers again and stay away from their scamming debit cards.
View full review
ID
#1558986 Review #1558986 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Kroger Personal Finance Prepaid Card Activation
New Reviewer

Routing Number

Does you KPF prepaid cards have a checking account number and routing number; like typical bank cards.
View full review
ID
#1552864 Review #1552864 is a subjective opinion of poster.
New Reviewer
Kroger Personal Finance - Kroger Debit Card is a Scam
Kroger Personal Finance - Kroger Debit Card is a Scam
Kroger Personal Finance - Kroger Debit Card is a Scam
I received my first KPF debit card in high school to deposit the checks received from my first job. I loved my card because I could handle the 3.00 fees and when I would mistakenly locked myself out of my account the customer service agents were usually pretty...
View full review
View full review
1 comment
#1754935

They have done this to me twice. I have my card in my hand and all of a sudden a charge of a 1.50 pops up in my acct to a gas station I frequent.

These types of charges happen ALOT to up to 300 to 400 dollars. I have a funny feeling walmart green dkt netspend and Kroger will all be on the news headling billion dollar law suit.

I have disputed several double charged or not authorized against them and they have yet to fix return calls or send emails. I am going to get down to the bottom of this.

ID
#1396056 Review #1396056 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Boise, Idaho
Service
Kroger Personal Finance Customer Care
Cons
  • Ignored my requests to not deactivate my card
  • Fraud
  • How they placed a block on my card for no apparent reason
Reason of review
Bad quality
Loss
$213
Preferred solution
Full refund
New Reviewer

Block a future transaction...

Ok...so I recently purchased a car and on October 27th I receive a letter in the mail to acquire a extra warranty for my car...They said that they'd send me paper work for this...as of today still no paperwork and I'm getting the run around from their customer services department...On Thursday the 8th of november and then on the 22nd they're supposed to be charging my card in two installments of $ 75.00 each...which I had agreed too...at that time...Well I feel I'm being scammed...and before they start taking any money from my account...I want to stop this transaction before it even starts...please help me do this...
View full review
ID
#1394335 Review #1394335 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Kroger Personal Finance Money Transfer
New Reviewer

Blackballed

Update by user Nov 27, 2018

My initial complaint with Kroger Personal Finance was in October of 2018. It is now November 2018 and Kroger Personal Finance has not contacted me regarding what happened to my card status.

I contacted the company via telephone four times, and each time, like the first, they kept placing me on hold and transferring me from one person to another. Finally after being transferred 7 times, I was told by one of their "supervisors" that my account was closed and they could not disclose why. What the h...? If you're closing something with my name attached to it, should I not be told the reason it is happening?

I mean, I'm just asking. Long story short, the Kroger 123 Reward Program is a rip off. My son placed $200 plus dollars on his card. Kroger Rewards 123 has not returned his money, has not contacted him as to what their plan of action is.

Nothing. Beware - Even though the Kroger 123 Rewards card is free and reloadable, their tactics in taking your money you place on the card is not.

Original review posted by user Oct 26, 2018
I had a Kroger 1-2-3 Reward card. my son also had a card. He deposited money on his card and when he tried to withdraw it, he could not access his funds so he filed a dispute with the Company. Mind you His card's address is the same as mine. I go to load money onto my card so that I could pay my renter's insurance and my card was denied. The cashier said message reading contacting company. Okay, I go home, contact the company via telephone where they played waiting games for up to 12 minutes at a time. I finally got tired of their bull, cut the card up, and hung up. To this day, no one has contacted me. I left over 15 messages between the company and Kroger's Corporate offices.
View full review
1 comment
#1754940

They have yet to give me my money back says wait 90 days while I live in my truck w my child

ID
#1389247 Review #1389247 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Product
Kroger 1-2-3 Rewards Prepaid Card
New Reviewer
Go to Walmart. Really unhappy about how this card works. The card does not work to the full potential unless you sign up with all your information. If you want out they make you give them all your personal information and make you wait for 10 to 14 business days. Yep...
View full review
View full review
ID
#1375608 Review #1375608 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Atlanta, Georgia
Product
Kroger 1-2-3 Rewards Prepaid Card
Reason of review
Return, Exchange or Cancellation Policy
Loss
$300
Preferred solution
Full refund

Brands Related to Kroger Personal Finance

Why Trust Reviews on PissedConsumer?

  • Professional auto and live moderation
  • 100% user-generated content
  • Equal opportunity and protection
  • Zero tolerance for fake reviews
  • Verified content

For more information read Blog article